skip to main content
Close Icon

In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer. By continuing to use this site and access its features, you are consenting to our use of cookies. To find out more about the way Informa uses cookies please go to our Cookie Policy page.

Global Search Configuration


ACT logo
Bahri logo
DP World
Drydocks World
Dubai Maritime
Hutchison Ports
Topaz energy and marine

The Hutchison Ports Environment Award


This environmental award honours the institution, company or individual within South Asia, Middle East and Africa to have done the most to reduce pollution of the environment from maritime sources. The contribution could include, but is not restricted to, ship design and operation, port operations, company-wide environmental policy, or successful policy effort on the part of a public official with maritime responsibility. Judges will be looking for tangible metrics by which success can be measured

Sponsored by Hutchison Ports


The i-law Maritime Law Award


This award celebrates the very best in the legal profession and will go to the individual lawyer or firm offering legal services that has offered the best service to the maritime industry over the past 12 months. Judges will look for exemplary expertise and commitment to the shipping industry as well as clear examples of innovation through which lawyers have played a crucial role in notable cases, restructuring or dispute resolution

The Lloyd's List Intelligence Innovation Award


This award recognises an innovative project or technology which has demonstrated or has verified potential to advance shipping. Our panel will welcome entries that showcase new ideas, ship designs, equipment and services that have shown to be, or hold the promise of, offering shipping a distinct application for business improvement. Whether in safety, environment or operational efficiency, the award is made to the technology solution that the judges believe demonstrates the innovation needed to move shipping forward.

Sponsored by DP World






Maritime Services Award


This award recognises the achievements of the manager or agency which has demonstrated the region’s best, ongoing commitment to the industry and has raised the standards of ship management in SAMEA. Judges will weigh the effort and effectiveness of a range of performance in ensuring the welfare of crew, record of safety, environmental initiatives, support of training, a commitment to ensuring ship security, operational efficiency, innovation in cost control and a proven pattern of client satisfaction.

Safety Award


This award will go to a company which can demonstrate an exceptional commitment to improving safety standards in the industry over the past 12 months. The award is open to companies across all sectors which can demonstrate robust and effective improvements to their operations at sea or ashore. Judges will be looking for more than a statement of safety aspirations, but for real examples of safety innovation, investment in safety training and proven reductions to accident rates, but they will also consider examples that demonstrate long-term consistency and best in class performance.

Port Operator Award


This award recognises the company or port authority that has maintained the highest standards of operational efficiency and customer service throughout the year. This award is open to individual port or terminal operators as well as larger group operations. Our judges look at quality and performance improvement, not scale.

Consideration will be given to tangible examples of innovation, improved efficiency, profitability or successful investment in port operations over the year. Judges will also be looking for evidence of a sustained commitment to customer service, cost and operational efficiency as well as an outstanding safety and environmental record.

Sponsored by Drydocks World






The Topaz Excellence in Logistics Award


The award will be given to the logistics or shipping company that has best worked with shippers not only to provide ocean transportation but a total logistics package with a full end-to-end supply chain management solution across both sea and land within South Asia, Middle East and Africa and destinations outside the region. Entrants should demonstrate their particular application of expertise to South Asia, Middle East and Africa and how services have benefited local customers in the region.

Sponsored by Topaz Energy and Marine


Ship Operator Award


This award recognises exceptional performance in ship operations and is open to all shipowners, operators and managers across all sectors. Judges will be looking for solid examples of achievement from the entrants that demonstrate excellence in the operation of its ship(s) over the past year and put the winner well beyond best practice. Consideration will be given, but is not limited to, examples of: business development, safety, efficiency, reliability and of course profitability.

Sponsored by Abu Dhabi Ship Building







Training Award


This award goes to a company for outstanding commitment in training its employees ashore or at sea or a company or institution that can demonstrate a contribution towards improving training standards in South Asia, Middle East and Africa’s maritime community. Judges will consider, among other things, examples of investment in new facilities and courses, innovative training solutions and a sustained and effective approach to developing quality staff in the maritime sector. The winner will need to demonstrate why they stand out above all others this year and have set the benchmark for the rest of the industry to aim for.

Seafarer of the Year


This prestigious award recognises the skill, bravery and professionalism that the industry’s seafarers demonstrate daily. We are looking for nominations of crew of all ranks who have shown leadership, courage, seamanship and vision while at sea over the past 12 months. Judges will welcome nominations from individuals or shipping companies putting forward any member of the crew, from ratings to masters whom they believe have exemplified the unique characteristics of seafarers.

The Next Generation Shipping Award


This award will go to a young, up–and–coming shipping industry leader who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry. Judges are looking for someone brimming with fresh ideas, new priorities and genuine potential. We encourage entries from all sectors to enter – anyone directly contributing to the shipping industry. Individual entries are welcome, but companies across the industry are encouraged to nominate their best and brightest, supported by examples of why their employee should win. Lloyd’s List’s editorial team will retain the right to nominate in addition to any entries submitted.

Sponsored by Bahri






Outstanding Achievement Award


This award recognises an individual who has, over the course of his or her long career, contributed to the well-being of the industry in a profound way. Lloyd’s List selects the winner from a list of nominations submitted by the Editorial team and the panel of judges.


Gaudio Awards are passionate about designing and manufacturing outstanding awards and trophies to fit your brief, brand and budget.

Our awards series

Global Freight Awards
Insurance Day Awards