skip to main content
Close Icon

In order to deliver a personalized, responsive service and to improve the site, we remember and store information about how you use it. This is done using simple text files called cookies which sit on your computer. By continuing to use this site and access its features, you are consenting to our use of cookies. To find out more about the way Informa uses cookies please go to our Cookie Policy page.

Global Search Configuration

The winners have been announced for the Lloyd's List Asia Pacific Awards 2017.

Many congratulations to everyone.

View the full winner photo gallery.


Lloyd’s List Asia Pacific Awards 2017 winners

Logistics Award

Winner: AAL, ESP cargo project

Sponsored by PSA


AAL was chosen by the chosen for its giant Electrostatic Precipitator, or ESP, cargo project as well as showing strong metrics in offering liner, semi-liner and tramp services for high-value cargoes to and from, and within the Asia-Pacific.


The Equatorial Marine Containership Operator of the Year Award

Winner: Maersk

Sponsored by Equatorial Marine Fuel Management Services


Maersk stood down strong competition from other entries in the shortlist, with the judges won over buy its ability to keep cargoes moving despite the cyber-attack, growth both organic and through acquisitions, and partnerships on portals such as Alibaba to enhance customer experience.


Safer, Cleaner Seas Award

Winner: ClassNK, ship recycling initiatives


ClassNK was chosen as the winner of this category for its ship recycling initiatives. A non-profit organization, it has been raising global awareness and environmental standards for ship recycling by contributing to various projects both financially and technically.


Highly commended: Berge Bulk


The judges wanted to award a commendation in this category and that goes to Berge Bulk. The firm’s continuous effort towards reducing its ecological footprint across its whole business is laudable


The i-law Maritime Law Award – Firm of the Year

Winner: HFW


HFW has shown excellence and the judges were impressed with how the firm leads the way in term of legal developments, having worked on a number of very significant cases over the past year.


The i-law Maritime Law Award – Individual Lawyer of the Year

Winner: Mei Lin Goh, Watson Farley & Williams


The judges noted that Mei Lin acts on some of the most multi-layered, complex and high value transactions in the market, as evidenced by her solid ranking across various Asian jurisdictions.


Excellence in Training Award

Winner: DNV GL, Maritime Training Academy

Sponsored by Jurong Port


DNV GL’s Maritime Training Academy has been recognized by the judges for its very broad portfolio as well as the availability of its courses over an extensive range of countries.


Tanker Operator of the Year Award

Winner: MISC

Sponsored by Safe Lanes


MISC performance was very impressive, demonstrating operational excellence above the INTERTANKO average while placing priority on high standards of safety and pollution prevention, which the judges liked.


Terminal Operator of the Year Award

Winner: PSA

Sponsored by China Merchants Energy Shipping


PSA impressed the judges by displaying strong initiatives to grow the business across the Asia-Pacific and in innovation as the industry faces the challenge of digitalization, as well as strong metrics.


Shipmanager of the Year Award

Winner: Wallem Ship Management, safety focus and wellness at sea

Sponsored by Gulf Oil Marine


The judges chose Wallem Ship Management for its focus on safety and wellness at sea amid increasing stress among seafarers as the industry faces changes and challenges.


The Lloyd’s List Intelligence Innovation Award

Winner: Liberian International Ship Registry and Prevention at Sea, Electronic Oil Record Book


The Liberian International Ship Registry and Prevention at Sea impressed the judges with the Electronic Oil Record Book, which is designed to combat the challenges shipowners face when using traditional paper record books.


The ClassNK Dry Bulk Operator of the Year Award

Winner: Berge Bulk

Sponsored by ClassNK


The judges chose Berge Bulk for having operated profitably and even improving its market leading position through what has been described as the worst dry bulk market in history.


Next Generation Award

Winner: Mr Rachit Jain, Safe Lanes Consultants 

Sponsored by Hutchison Ports


Safe Lanes founder and managing director Mr Rachit Jain impressed the judges with his entrepreneurial drive and tapping on his at sea and onshore experience in launching software solutions for the maritime industry.


Seafarer of the Year Award

Winner: Captain Anubhav Srivastava, MTM Ship Management


Captain Anubhav Srivastava from MTM Ship Management was chosen by the judges for leading the crew of the MTM Tortola in the rescue of 13 persons from a distressed vessel in rough seas within a piracy high risk area in June.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Fleet Management – Mr Kishore Rajvanshy

Sponsored by Containerchain


The lifetime achievement winner is someone who rose through the ranks of the industry, before taking over the reins of Fleet Management and transforming it into what is today.


The founding managing director of Fleet Management, Kishore Rajvanshy, began his career at the Shipping Corporation of India and spent most of his time at sea between 1971 and 1978, where he rose to be chief engineer. Coming ashore, he progressed to the post of superintendent.


In 1979, he embarked on a 15-year career starting as superintendent with a prominent Hong Kong-based ship management company, rising to director and general manager.

He established Fleet Management in November 1994 and within 23 years, transformed the company from running just one ship in November 1994 to managing a diversified fleet of more than 450 vessels valued at more than $15bn today. The business employs some 18,000 personnel at sea and about 800 people ashore. It is a great honour for Lloyd’s List to applaud Kishore’s ability as the growth was achieved without mergers or acquisitions but by organic growth.